Yogasan FAQ

Yogasan FAQ

Why do we roll to the right after savasana at the end of class and some times roll to the left ? Is there some significance to this?

Traditionally in yogasan you roll to the right during the day to honor the sun and roll to the left in the evening to honor the moon.

How many types of Yogasana are there?

In yoga asanas, you can use 84 basic asanas to increase awareness. When we talk about 84 individual poses, don’t just think of 84 postures. These are 84 systems and 84 ways to achieve them. If you have mastered any one yoga asana, you can understand everything that exists.

What can and can’t pregnant women do in yogasan ?

Practicing in a heated room is the number one component to avoid in a yogasan class, as getting over-heated can fry the baby’s neurons. Lying on the back can shut off blood to the baby and lying on the stomach can compress the baby. Inversions are not a great idea as your weight is different when pregnant then when you weren’t, so your center of balance is easily thrown off. I have seen pregnant women fall and its not fun for the mother or the baby.

Is yogasan enough or should I compliment it with cardio and weight lifting?

Yogasan are about creating a harmonious integration of breath and movement, so if you apply yogic breathing with cardio, weightlifting it can be considered a form of yogasan. So I would mix it up if it feels appropriate.

What is Vinyasa or Power Yogasan?

Power yoga is a vinyasa style of yogasan in which one pose is linked to the next by breath. It is a vigorous class and often modeled after poses in ashtanga yogasan.

What is Hatha Yogasan?

What exactly Hatha yoga actually is hasn’t changed for thousands of years. However our thinking and perception of it certainly has. Language is a powerful thing, and in different cultures the same word can have a variety of definitions. Throughout the evolution of yoga practice, the same word – Hatha – has come to mean different things too.

What is Ashtanga Yogasan?

In Sanskrit “Ashta + anga” is ashtanga. “Ashta” means Eight and “Anga” is limbs so it means Eight Limb path, Ashtanga yoga is based on Yoga Philosophy of Patanjali. The asanas, Pranayamas or the dharana which we have studied earlier or the yam and niyam are based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Hence, we will acquaint ourselves with the fundamentals as stated by Patanjali first.

What is Iyengar Yogasan?

Iyengar Yoga, created by B. K. S. Iyengar, is a form of yoga known for its use of props, such as belts and blocks, as aids in performing asanas (postures)… This style of yoga is extremely alignment based and the asanas are often practiced individually.